Is a 9 Track Version Of Chronic 2001 Better Than Illmatic?

Here we go again with the 9-Track Album Cut vs. Illmatic battle

Lets take Dr. Dre’s Chronic 2001 (which was actually released in 1999).  If we were to cut down the 22-track album to a 9-track album, with an intro and 8-tracks mirroring Illmatic’s blueprint, could it be better than the all time greatest Illmatic?

The 2001 Chronic 9-Track playlist

  1. Lolo (Intro)
  2. The Watcher
  3. Still D.R.E. featuring Snoop Doggy Dogg
  4. Xxplosive featuring Hitmann, Kurupt, Nate Dogg and Six-Two
  5. What’s The Difference featuring Xzibit and Eminem
  6. Forgot About Dre featuring Eminem
  7. The Next Expisode featuring Snoop Doggy Dogg
  8. Let’s Get High featuring Hitmann, Kurupt, and Ms. Roq
  9. Lightspeed

The first 8 tracks were easy to pick: an intro and of the 8 tracks selected, 5 were singles in 1999 and 2000.  The last track was a little more difficult to select, but we liked Lightspeed ahead of most of the other songs.  Fuck You featuring Devin The Dude and Snoop Doggy Dogg was our alternate to the 9-track album, so if Lightspeed isn’t the track for you, just swap it out for Fuck You and there is the album.

When you listen to Chronic 2001 today, it doesn’t even sound like dated music.  The music has stood the test of time and even now in 2017, the song paints a picture of Impalas, Chronic and west coast hunnies parading across LA.  Even though Illmatic was recorded from 1992-1993 and is 5 to 6 years older than the Chronic 2001, Illmatic sounds much more dated than the Chronic 2001 does.

So tell us……how does this west coast album hold up to Illmatic?  To us, this album is better than Illmatic.  It perfectly blends west coast OGs with a few no name newcomers.  Snoop and Dre were performing together like it was 1993 all over again.  Add a 2K version of Marshall Mathers, and this album may even be better than the original Chronic…….or maybe not.

So tell us: The 9-Track Version Of Chronic 2001 or Illmatic which do you pick?

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s